Skip to main content

Written questions

Search written questions to Ministers and the replies they have received.

Filters
Asked by All MPs
Minister All Ministers
Portfolio All portfolios
Question published between

Dates refer to when the question was published, and are inclusive.

Showing 6651 to 6700 of 32204 written question sets.

Question published
Reply lodged

Asked by

Tangi Utikere

Member for Palmerston North · Labour Party

Question

  • What is the basis for Ferry Holdings Limited capitalising $12.869 million of operating costs to 30 June 2026 and a forecast $12.446 million in 2026/27 as construction in progress rather than expensing them, and what would the reported…

Answered by

Rt Hon Winston Peters

List MP · NZ First · Minister for Rail

Answer

Ferry Holdings Limited is a delivery entity for capital assets that will garner a return. These assets are not generated by magic, but instead by works that attract a cost and can be capitalised. This is quite standard for asset-generating…

Question published
Reply lodged

Asked by

Tangi Utikere

Member for Palmerston North · Labour Party

Question

  • How much, if any, did Ferry Holdings Limited spend on travel and accommodation in the period 5 March 2025 to 30 June 2026, how much is forecast for the year ending 30 June 2027, and how much of that relates to travel to the shipyard in…

Answered by

Rt Hon Winston Peters

List MP · NZ First · Minister for Rail

Answer

This is not information held by a shareholding Minister. The member is welcome to seek this information from Ferry Holdings directly.

Question published
Reply lodged

Asked by

Tangi Utikere

Member for Palmerston North · Labour Party

Question

  • Why are Ferry Holdings Limited's forecast employee costs of $6.506 million for the twelve months ending 30 June 2027 higher than the $3.380 million incurred over the sixteen months ending 30 June 2026?

Answered by

Rt Hon Winston Peters

List MP · NZ First · Minister for Rail

Answer

The personnel will increase as overall work activities increase, then drop again when the project is completed. This is normal. The member may have missed this, but the waste at Project iReX saw a team of over 100 people spread across two…

Question published
Reply lodged

Asked by

Tangi Utikere

Member for Palmerston North · Labour Party

Question

  • How many full-time equivalent staff were employed by Ferry Holdings Limited as at 24 July 2026, how many are forecast as at 30 June 2027, and how many, if any, are paid total remuneration exceeding $200,000 per annum?

Answered by

Rt Hon Winston Peters

List MP · NZ First · Minister for Rail

Answer

As of 12 June 2026, 15 and 7.

Question published
Reply lodged

Asked by

Tangi Utikere

Member for Palmerston North · Labour Party

Question

  • Does he stand by his statement that the previous Cook Strait ferry project was hijacked by expensive consultants, and how is this consistent with Ferry Holdings Limited's forecast consulting and professional fees of $7.156 million and…

Answered by

Rt Hon Winston Peters

List MP · NZ First · Minister for Rail

Answer

Yes. $8.5 million is 0.2125% of $4 billion, which is the number Treasury warned the previous Government iReX was on course to hit.

Question published
Reply lodged

Asked by

Tangi Utikere

Member for Palmerston North · Labour Party

Question

  • How much, if any, has Ferry Holdings Limited spent on consulting and professional fees, legal fees, contractors and external assurance services in the period 5 March 2025 to 30 June 2026, and how much is forecast for the year ending 30…

Answered by

Rt Hon Winston Peters

List MP · NZ First · Minister for Rail

Answer

Ferry Holdings will provide a full account of its spending in its 2025/26 annual report. This is not information held by the Minister, and can be sought from Ferry Holdings directly if desired before the annual report is published.

Question published
Reply lodged

Asked by

Hūhana Lyndon

List MP · Green Party

Question

  • What advice, if any, has the Minister received on the likely impact of the proposed Assessment Division restructure on NZQA's capability to develop, maintain, and quality assure Māori-medium assessment and qualifications?

Answered by

Hon Erica Stanford

Member for East Coast Bays · National Party · Minister of Education

Answer

I was advised on 15 July 2026 that NZQA would be commencing consultation on proposed changes to the Assessment Division’s structure. As Minister, I do not become involved in NZQA’s operational or internal organisational matters. These are…

Question published
Reply lodged

Asked by

Tangi Utikere

Member for Palmerston North · Labour Party

Question

  • What penalties, liquidated damages or incentive payments, if any, are provided for in the infrastructure delivery agreements signed in June 2026 between Ferry Holdings Limited, Port Marlborough, CentrePort and KiwiRail Limited in the event…

Answered by

Rt Hon Winston Peters

List MP · NZ First · Minister for Rail

Answer

This information is not disclosed as they are commercial activities. We will never release information that puts taxpayer funds at risk. However, we are satisfied the arrangements place performance incentives appropriately to encourage…

Question published
Reply lodged

Asked by

Tangi Utikere

Member for Palmerston North · Labour Party

Question

  • What matters, if any, have been escalated to the Escalation Executives Group established under the Cook Strait Ferry Replacement Programme governance framework since April 2025, and how many remain unresolved?

Answered by

Rt Hon Winston Peters

List MP · NZ First · Minister for Rail

Answer

We hope to see this group working effectively, with leaders resolving matters. It would be a crying shame if leaders did not escalate matters to be resolved, otherwise we would see months of infrastructure indecision leading to an…

Question published
Reply lodged

Asked by

Tangi Utikere

Member for Palmerston North · Labour Party

Question

  • What percentage of the special purpose vehicle holding the Picton main wharf and marine assets will be owned by Ferry Holdings Limited and what percentage by Port Marlborough, and on what basis were those shares determined?

Answered by

Rt Hon Winston Peters

List MP · NZ First · Minister for Rail

Answer

There is an old Māori saying, ‘we pay the price, we pluck the duck.’ As such, shares are determined by money contributed.

Question published
Reply lodged

Asked by

Tangi Utikere

Member for Palmerston North · Labour Party

Question

  • Has the Crown returns agreement between Ferry Holdings Limited and KiwiRail Limited been signed, and if not, what is the current expected signing date?

Answered by

Rt Hon Winston Peters

List MP · NZ First · Minister for Rail

Answer

The decisions in July 2026 were required before these arrangements can be finalised, and are now in train. The core elements underpinning this agreement have been announced in our speech dated 17 July 2026.

Question published
Reply lodged

Asked by

Tangi Utikere

Member for Palmerston North · Labour Party

Question

  • What is the net present value of the payments the Crown expects to receive from KiwiRail Limited under the Crown returns agreement intended to be signed by December 2026, and what discount rate has been used?

Answered by

Rt Hon Winston Peters

List MP · NZ First · Minister for Rail

Answer

This information is not disclosed, in the same way as Interislander and Bluebridge do not currently disclose its port fee payments in KiwiRail’s annual report.

Question published
Reply lodged

Asked by

Tangi Utikere

Member for Palmerston North · Labour Party

Question

  • What annual payment, if any, will KiwiRail Limited make to Ferry Holdings Limited and the Crown for use of the new Cook Strait ferries and port infrastructure, and over what period is the Crown's investment forecast to be recovered?

Answered by

Rt Hon Winston Peters

List MP · NZ First · Minister for Rail

Answer

This information is not disclosed, in the same way as Interislander and Bluebridge do not currently disclose its port fee payments in KiwiRail’s annual report.

Question published
Reply lodged

Asked by

Hūhana Lyndon

List MP · Green Party

Question

  • How many full-time equivalent staff employed by NZQA have primary responsibility for Māori-medium assessment, mātauranga Māori qualifications, or Māori assessment standards?

Answered by

Hon Erica Stanford

Member for East Coast Bays · National Party · Minister of Education

Answer

I am advised that as at 29 July 2026, there are 28.4 full-time equivalent (FTE) staff employed in NZQA with primary responsibility for Māori-medium assessment, mātauranga Māori qualifications, or Māori assessment standards.

Question published
Reply lodged

Asked by

Tangi Utikere

Member for Palmerston North · Labour Party

Question

  • What is the scheduled completion date for each major port infrastructure work package at Wellington and Picton, and which, if any, are currently forecast to be completed later than the date assumed in the November 2025 estimates?

Answered by

Rt Hon Winston Peters

List MP · NZ First · Minister for Rail

Answer

This information has not been disclosed but clearly works are scheduled to be completed before the first ferry enters service in 2029.

Question published
Reply lodged

Asked by

Tangi Utikere

Member for Palmerston North · Labour Party

Question

  • What is the estimated cost of the common linkspan design being procured for both Wellington and Picton, and has the contract with the preferred linkspan supplier been signed?

Answered by

Rt Hon Winston Peters

List MP · NZ First · Minister for Rail

Answer

This information cannot be disclosed at this time for commercial reasons, but works are progressing well.

Question published
Reply lodged

Asked by

Tangi Utikere

Member for Palmerston North · Labour Party

Question

  • What resource consents or other statutory approvals are required for the port infrastructure works at Wellington and Picton, and how many, if any, remain outstanding as at 1 July 2026?

Answered by

Rt Hon Winston Peters

List MP · NZ First · Minister for Rail

Answer

Most works will be carried out under existing consents. Some minor adjacent consents are in progress and are expected soon.

Question published
Reply lodged

Asked by

Tangi Utikere

Member for Palmerston North · Labour Party

Question

  • Have early works at Wellington and Picton been completed, and if not, what is the forecast completion date and what additional cost, if any, has been incurred as a result of any delay?

Answered by

Rt Hon Winston Peters

List MP · NZ First · Minister for Rail

Answer

We remain on schedule to complete works in 2029 so yes.

Question published
Reply lodged

Asked by

Tangi Utikere

Member for Palmerston North · Labour Party

Question

  • Have main infrastructure works commenced at Wellington as scheduled in July 2026, and if not, what is the revised commencement date?

Answered by

Rt Hon Winston Peters

List MP · NZ First · Minister for Rail

Answer

No, as main works contracts will be entered later this year as announced on 17 July 2026. There are ongoing works under existing contracts so Ferry Holdings delivers on time.

Question published
Reply lodged

Asked by

Tangi Utikere

Member for Palmerston North · Labour Party

Question

  • Why did the Minister for Rail state on 17 July 2026 that the commercial agreements "set the basis for main works contracts to be entered later this year" when Ferry Holdings Limited's Statement of Performance Expectations 2026/27 states…

Answered by

Rt Hon Winston Peters

List MP · NZ First · Minister for Rail

Answer

In the very same speech, we acknowledged Brian Perry Civil and HEB as the construction partners already brought into the project by CentrePort and Port Marlborough respectively. As we are talking about taxpayers money being invested,…

Question published
Reply lodged

Asked by

Tangi Utikere

Member for Palmerston North · Labour Party

Question

  • On what date, if any, was the main works construction contract for Wellington signed with Brian Perry Civil, given that Ferry Holdings Limited's Statement of Performance Expectations 2026/27, signed in June 2026, records that negotiations…

Answered by

Rt Hon Winston Peters

List MP · NZ First · Minister for Rail

Answer

Brian Perry Civil is CentePort’s construction partner and the member can ask CentrePort that question. However, main works contracts are expected to be entered later this year.

Question published
Reply lodged

Asked by

Hūhana Lyndon

List MP · Green Party

Question

  • What positions, if any, are proposed to undertake the functions currently performed by Ngā Poutoko Aromatawai Māori, under the proposed NZQA Assessment Division restructure, by position title and number of established full-time equivalent…

Answered by

Hon Erica Stanford

Member for East Coast Bays · National Party · Minister of Education

Answer

I am advised that if the proposed changes are adopted, the existing functions of the Ngā Poutoko Aromatawai Māori (NPAM) team would continue to be delivered with some changes to the way resources are organised and aligned within…

Questions published
Reply lodged

Asked by

Tangi Utikere

Member for Palmerston North · Labour Party

Questions

  • 33708

    What regulatory or safety requirements applying to the new Cook Strait ferries remain unconfirmed pending the further marine simulations scheduled for late 2026?

  • 33709

    What findings, if any, from the marine simulations completed to date indicate that operational restrictions will apply to the new Cook Strait ferries berthing or navigating at Wellington or Picton, and what further simulations remain…

Answered by

Rt Hon Winston Peters

List MP · NZ First · Minister for Rail

Answer

This is not information held by a shareholding Minister, but needless to say this likely has a thing or two to do with simulating sailing and berthing operations. This is a standard and ongoing process as part of the design stage of…

Question published
Reply lodged

Asked by

Tangi Utikere

Member for Palmerston North · Labour Party

Question

  • What is the estimated cost of establishing and operating the Ferry Holdings Limited site supervision team at the Guangzhou Shipyard International shipyard, and how many staff will it comprise?

Answered by

Rt Hon Winston Peters

List MP · NZ First · Minister for Rail

Answer

This information is not held by shareholding Ministers and can be requested directly from Ferry Holdings.

Question published
Reply lodged

Asked by

Tangi Utikere

Member for Palmerston North · Labour Party

Question

  • What float or schedule contingency, if any, exists between the scheduled completion of port infrastructure works in early 2029 and the scheduled arrival of the first Cook Strait ferry in April 2029?

Answered by

Rt Hon Winston Peters

List MP · NZ First · Minister for Rail

Answer

There is a float in the works programme, but that is for me to know and you to find out. It is a general principle in contract management to keep your cards close, as revealing them gives away leverage and we will not be doing that.

Question published
Reply lodged

Asked by

Tangi Utikere

Member for Palmerston North · Labour Party

Question

  • Given that Ferry Holdings Limited's Statement of Performance Expectations 2026/27 states the second Cook Strait ferry will arrive in New Zealand in October 2029 and that both ships will enter service in 2029, what commissioning, sea…

Answered by

Rt Hon Winston Peters

List MP · NZ First · Minister for Rail

Answer

Standard commissioning arrangements are planned including sea trials, crew training, and regulatory certification activities.

Question published
Reply lodged

Asked by

Tangi Utikere

Member for Palmerston North · Labour Party

Question

  • Have all milestones under the fixed-price contracts signed in November 2025 between Ferry Holdings Limited and Guangzhou Shipyard International been met on schedule to date, and if not, which have not been met?

Answered by

Rt Hon Winston Peters

List MP · NZ First · Minister for Rail

Answer

One of the milestones is vessel acceptance on completion, so no.

Question published
Reply lodged

Asked by

Tangi Utikere

Member for Palmerston North · Labour Party

Question

  • What is the scheduled date on which each of the vessels Kupe and Cook is expected to enter commercial service, and how many weeks are allowed between the arrival of each vessel in New Zealand and its entry into service?

Answered by

Rt Hon Winston Peters

List MP · NZ First · Minister for Rail

Answer

This information is not disclosed for commercial reasons, but both vessels are expected to be in service within months of arriving in New Zealand.

Question published
Reply lodged

Asked by

Tangi Utikere

Member for Palmerston North · Labour Party

Question

  • How many variations, if any, to the fixed-price ship building contracts between Ferry Holdings Limited and Guangzhou Shipyard International have been agreed or are under negotiation as at 24 July 2026, and what is their total value?

Answered by

Rt Hon Winston Peters

List MP · NZ First · Minister for Rail

Answer

The fixed-price nature of the ship building contracts remain unchanged. It is a normal and expected part of shipbuilding to update specific components of the contract, such as when an alternative maker is selected. Detailing minor…

Questions published
Reply lodged

Asked by

Tangi Utikere

Member for Palmerston North · Labour Party

Questions

  • 33716

    How much, if any, has Ferry Holdings Limited assumed it will receive from Marlborough District Council as grant income for the Dublin Street Overbridge in Picton in the year ending 30 June 2027, and what is the status of the agreement…

  • 33717

    What is the estimated cost of the Dublin Street rail overbridge in Picton, how much, if any, is Marlborough District Council contributing, and has that contribution been contractually confirmed?

Answered by

Rt Hon Winston Peters

List MP · NZ First · Minister for Rail

Answer

KiwiRail is still in progress on this so we cannot provide specifics, however the cost is in the low tens of millions like other overbridges around the country. Marlborough District Council is not contributing. There will be $10 million as…

Question published
Reply lodged

Asked by

Tangi Utikere

Member for Palmerston North · Labour Party

Question

  • What is the estimated total cost of demolishing redundant infrastructure and relocating services at Wellington and Picton to enable main works, and was that cost included in the November 2025 published estimates?

Answered by

Rt Hon Winston Peters

List MP · NZ First · Minister for Rail

Answer

This is not information held by shareholding Ministers, but all demolition works that fall to Ferry Holdings fit within the $1.704 billion appropriation limit announced in November 2025.

Question published
Reply lodged

Asked by

Tangi Utikere

Member for Palmerston North · Labour Party

Question

  • What technical due diligence, if any, on the condition of existing port assets and on ship-to-shore interface geometry was completed before the March 2025 decision to pursue a maximum-reuse, minimum-viable infrastructure programme?

Answered by

Rt Hon Winston Peters

List MP · NZ First · Minister for Rail

Answer

Seriously technical due diligence was completed prior to March 2025 and through to completing the cost estimates in June. This is the same robust analysis that enables both ports to be operating right now.

Question published
Reply lodged

Asked by

Tangi Utikere

Member for Palmerston North · Labour Party

Question

  • When was the Government first advised that the existing Wellington linkspan and approach structure could not be reused, and on what date, if any, was that advice provided to shareholding Ministers?

Answered by

Rt Hon Winston Peters

List MP · NZ First · Minister for Rail

Answer

It was known at the time Cabinet set course for a maximum reuse, minimum viable option to save the taxpayer $2.3 billion that the Wellington linkspan might require replacement. Ferry Holdings was subsequently established and promptly…

Question published
Reply lodged

Asked by

Tangi Utikere

Member for Palmerston North · Labour Party

Question

  • What is the estimated cost of the temporary terminal required at Wellington during construction of the linkspan and approach ramp, and was that temporary terminal included in the cost estimates published in November 2025?

Answered by

Rt Hon Winston Peters

List MP · NZ First · Minister for Rail

Answer

Low millions, and yes this cost fits within the $1.704 billion appropriation published in November 2025. The exact cost cannot be disclosed as it is a current commercial activity.

Question published
Reply lodged

Asked by

Tangi Utikere

Member for Palmerston North · Labour Party

Question

  • What is the estimated cost of the new linkspan, linkspan approach structure and passenger walkway required at Wellington, which Ferry Holdings Limited's Statement of Performance Expectations 2026/27 states were initially envisaged to be…

Answered by

Rt Hon Winston Peters

List MP · NZ First · Minister for Rail

Answer

This information cannot be disclosed as it is a current commercial activity. To the extent that information can be released, Ferry Holdings is doing so as and when appropriate through its public reporting.

Question published
Reply lodged

Asked by

Tangi Utikere

Member for Palmerston North · Labour Party

Question

  • Does the $5.733 million concessionary loan receivable discount recognised by Ferry Holdings Limited across the periods ending 30 June 2026 and 30 June 2027 count against the $1.7 billion Cook Strait Ferry Replacement Programme funding…

Answered by

Rt Hon Winston Peters

List MP · NZ First · Minister for Rail

Answer

No. Refer to the explanatory note “l” in the Statement of Performance Expectations: “Any impairment losses are recognised in surplus or deficit.”

Question published
Reply lodged

Asked by

Tangi Utikere

Member for Palmerston North · Labour Party

Question

  • Do the capital contributions to KiwiRail Limited of $12.948 million to 30 June 2026 and $22.904 million forecast for 2026/27, disclosed in Ferry Holdings Limited's Statement of Performance Expectations 2026/27, count against the $1.7…

Answered by

Rt Hon Winston Peters

List MP · NZ First · Minister for Rail

Answer

Yes. They count against “All Picton works” and “All Wellington works” to specific assets which KiwiRail will be the end owner

Question published
Reply lodged

Asked by

Tangi Utikere

Member for Palmerston North · Labour Party

Question

  • What specific items of port infrastructure were assumed to be reusable when Ferry Holdings Limited assumed responsibility for the Cook Strait Ferry Replacement Programme in April 2025 but have since been found not to be reusable, and what…

Answered by

Rt Hon Winston Peters

List MP · NZ First · Minister for Rail

Answer

None. The only item in question on established Ferry Holdings was whether the linkspan in Wellington could be modified and reused along with other assets, or replaced. In the end, we decided to replace the linkspan and this provides a…

Question published
Reply lodged

Asked by

Tangi Utikere

Member for Palmerston North · Labour Party

Question

  • What contingency, if any, is held within the $373 million Ferry Holdings Limited contribution to Picton marine infrastructure announced on 17 July 2026, and what is its value?

Answered by

Rt Hon Winston Peters

List MP · NZ First · Minister for Rail

Answer

This information is not disclosed for commercial reasons. At a total programme level, approximately 20% of the $1.704 billion Government funding for Ferry Holdings is contingency.

Question published
Reply lodged

Asked by

Tangi Utikere

Member for Palmerston North · Labour Party

Question

  • How much of the $1.7 billion Cook Strait Ferry Replacement Programme funding envelope is forecast to be spent in each of the financial years 2026/27, 2027/28 and 2028/29, given that Ferry Holdings Limited's Statement of Performance…

Answered by

Rt Hon Winston Peters

List MP · NZ First · Minister for Rail

Answer

There will always be overs and unders between financial years in a delivery programme with a multi-year appropriation. Updated forecasts will be provided in each Statement of Performance Expectations and Annual Report.

Question published
Reply lodged

Asked by

Tangi Utikere

Member for Palmerston North · Labour Party

Question

  • How much, if any, of the $1.7 billion funding envelope has been committed or contractually obligated as at 24 July 2026, and how much remains uncommitted?

Answered by

Rt Hon Winston Peters

List MP · NZ First · Minister for Rail

Answer

It is not possible to provide an “as at 24 July 2026” to suit the whims of a written parliamentary question. Ferry Holdings discloses its contractual commitments where required through its public reporting. If specific numbers such as this…

Question published
Reply lodged

Asked by

Tangi Utikere

Member for Palmerston North · Labour Party

Question

  • What is the equivalent of the $373 million Ferry Holdings Limited contribution to Picton infrastructure for Wellington infrastructure, and how does that figure compare with the $325 million for Wellington published in November 2025?

Answered by

Rt Hon Winston Peters

List MP · NZ First · Minister for Rail

Answer

$309 million, which is $84 million more than $225 million in November. This reflects more work occurring on the Wellington programme. By contrast, total Picton works are now $493 million, which is $38 million less than the $531 million…

Question published
Reply lodged

Asked by

Tangi Utikere

Member for Palmerston North · Labour Party

Question

  • Why does the November 2025 published figure of $531 million for Picton infrastructure differ from the sum of the $373 million Ferry Holdings Limited contribution and the $110 million Port Marlborough contribution announced on 17 July 2026,…

Answered by

Rt Hon Winston Peters

List MP · NZ First · Minister for Rail

Answer

We found further efficiencies in the Picton programme and acted on them. Had this type of scope control occurred under iReX, perhaps it wouldn’t have blown out by billions…

Question published
Reply lodged

Asked by

Hūhana Lyndon

List MP · Green Party

Question

  • How many full-time equivalent (FTE) staff were employed within Ngā Poutoko Aromatawai Māori, if any, in November 2023, and how many FTE staff are employed in the team today?

Answered by

Hon Erica Stanford

Member for East Coast Bays · National Party · Minister of Education

Answer

I am advised that 34 full-time equivalent staff were employed in Ngā Poutoko Aromatawai in November 2023. There are 23.9 permanent full-time equivalent staff employed as at 29 July 2026 and one vacancy.

Question published
Reply lodged

Asked by

Tangi Utikere

Member for Palmerston North · Labour Party

Question

  • What is the current whole-of-programme cost estimate for the Cook Strait Ferry Replacement Programme, broken down by ships, Wellington infrastructure, Picton infrastructure, KiwiRail road and rail works, and management and contingency, and…

Answered by

Rt Hon Winston Peters

List MP · NZ First · Minister for Rail

Answer

$1.924 billion is the current whole-of-programme cost estimate, including contributions from third parties. The Government will spend no more than $1.704 billion in funding for Ferry Holdings responsibilities. To the extent that we can…

Question published
Reply lodged

Asked by

Tangi Utikere

Member for Palmerston North · Labour Party

Question

  • How much, if any, of the $415 million for management and contingency costs published in November 2025 as part of the Cook Strait Ferry Replacement Programme remains unallocated as at 1 July 2026?

Answered by

Rt Hon Winston Peters

List MP · NZ First · Minister for Rail

Answer

We do not have “as at” specific date figures, but no contingency has been allocated and programme management costs as disclosed in the Statement of Performance Expectations have been spent.

Question published
Reply lodged

Asked by

Tangi Utikere

Member for Palmerston North · Labour Party

Question

  • How much, if any, of the tagged contingency established alongside the $1.7 billion Cook Strait Ferry Replacement Programme funding envelope agreed by Cabinet in March 2025 has been drawn down as at 24 July 2026, and for what purposes?

Answered by

Rt Hon Winston Peters

List MP · NZ First · Minister for Rail

Answer

All of the tagged contingency established in 31 March 2025 has been appropriated and committed to the programme, but none has been drawn.

Questions published
Reply lodged

Asked by

Tangi Utikere

Member for Palmerston North · Labour Party

Questions

  • 33735

    On what date, if any, did the Prime Minister or his office ask her to direct the Ministry of Education to provide funding for schools to "solve the problem" of rural school buses in the Manawatu?

  • 33737

    By what means of communication, if any, did the Prime Minister or his office ask her to direct the Ministry of Education to provide funding for schools to "solve the problem" of rural school buses in the Manawatu?

Answered by

Hon Erica Stanford

Member for East Coast Bays · National Party · Minister of Education

Answer

My office has had a range of conversations with the Prime Minister's office on this matter. This is also my answer to Written Parliamentary Question 33737 (2026).

Question published
Reply lodged

Asked by

Lan Pham

List MP · Green Party

Question

  • Following response 29681 (2026), was the Minister's request for a "rapid" briefing on drinking water in rural schools, which was provided on 2 April 2026, prompted by the Green Party's release of information on the morning of 2 April that…

Answered by

Hon Erica Stanford

Member for East Coast Bays · National Party · Minister of Education

Answer

No.

Question published
Reply lodged

Asked by

Ginny Andersen

List MP · Labour Party

Question

  • Has any decision been made about whether or when the national results of the Ministry of Education's phonics checks will be published; if so, who made that decision?

Answered by

Hon Erica Stanford

Member for East Coast Bays · National Party · Minister of Education

Answer

I am advised that the Ministry of Education is still considering how the phonics checks results will be published on an ongoing basis.